public health services provided in all regions, the Swift Current Health Region has a medical-care plan including general practitioner, specialist, diagnostic and limited dental services. The plan is financed by personal and property taxes with some Provincial Government contributions. In addition, many districts have municipal doctor programs with medical services provided under a contract between the municipal authority and the medical practitioner.

Responsibility for the administration of the Saskatchewan Hospital Services Plan rests with the Medical and Hospital Services Branch of the Department. All residents are eligible for hospital care under the compulsory plan financed by an annual tax of \$10 for all persons 18 years of age or over and \$5 for persons under 18 years of age, with \$30 as a maximum family tax; additional funds are provided by the Province as needed. Payment of the tax for social assistance recipients is by the government agency responsible for their hospital care and treatment. In addition to free hospital care, medical, dental and optical services and some drugs are provided to old-age and blind pensioners and their dependants, to beneficiaries of mothers' allowances and to social-aid groups including provincial wards.

The Psychiatric Services Branch supervises psychiatric hospitals and administers community psychiatric services including clinics. The Province provides free care and treatment for all mentally ill and mentally defective persons requiring hospitalization. The Province's tuberculosis control program is operated by the Saskatchewan Anti-tuberculosis League. Stationary and mobile clinics give diagnostic service and pneumothorax treatments while provincial per diem grants and municipal levies pay the cost of hospital care and treatment. The Saskatchewan Cancer Commission co-ordinates all cancer control measures and operates publicly financed consultative, diagnostic and treatment clinics at Saskatoon and Regina.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health includes Divisions of Communicable Disease, Public Health Education, Hospital and Medical Services, Laboratory, Public Health Nursing, Social Hygiene, Sanitary Engineering, Cancer Services, Mental Health, Tuberculosis Control, Entomology, Nutrition Services and Vital Statistics.

For the provision of local health services, the Province is divided into health unit districts. The units are administered, with Departmental supervision and financial aid, by local boards of health composed of members appointed by local governments. One-half of the 18 units currently organized are directed by full-time medical health officers and one-half by public health nurses. Outside the health unit areas, the Department operates a district nursing service in outlying communities, and is generally responsible for health services in unorganized territory. The larger cities have their own full-time health departments.

Free services regularly provided through Departmental clinics include diagnosis and treatment for venereal disease; medical examination for cancer; mental guidance and psychiatric examinations; X-ray examinations and tests for tuberculosis at stationary and travelling clinics and mobile X-ray units. Provincial laboratory services at Edmonton and Calgary are available to all doctors and approved hospitals and sera and biologicals are distributed for preventive work.

On the recommendation of provincial cancer clinics, surgical, X-ray and radium treatment and hospitalization for a period of up to two weeks for diagnostic purposes are provided by the Department. There are four provincial institutions for the